Coalition Commends Bipartisan Leadership in Advancing American Energy Innovation Act

March 3, 2020 | Legislation

Carbon Capture Coalition Director Brad Crabtree released the following statement today regarding the American Energy Innovation Act (AEIA):

“The Carbon Capture Coalition recognizes Chairman Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) and Ranking Member Joe Manchin (D-WV) and members of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee for their bipartisan leadership in advancing the American Energy Innovation Act to the full United States Senate.

The 75 companies, unions and NGOs of the Coalition have worked together in this Congress to support the EFFECT Act, LEADING Act and Clean Industrial Technology Act aimed at expanding, diversifying and retooling federal investments in carbon capture, use, removal and geologic storage. Now, the AEIA brings together these important bills into one bipartisan package that will help sustain and strengthen U.S. global leadership in carbon capture by providing the resources needed to bring the next generation of technologies to the marketplace.

The carbon capture provisions included in the AEIA are in keeping with consensus recommendations in the Coalition’s first-ever federal policy blueprint released last year.

We urge members of the Senate to support the AEIA’s carbon capture provisions, and we call on House leaders to advance the substantially similar bipartisan Fossil Energy Research and Development Act and the companion to the Clean Industrial Technology Act for consideration by the full House of Representatives.”